Welcome to the DAN GIFFORD RUBBER BRIDGE Competition for 2019


FORMAT:  This is a knockout competition.   The winners will be the last ones standing!!   Matches will be played at a venue agreed between the competitors for rounds 1 – 4.   This can be in your home or Bridge Club.   If a venue cannot be agreed upon please contact a Committee member who will decide or toss a coin.

LENGTH OF MATCHES:   Matches will be of 30 boards.   You are reminded that ALL hands are dealt at the table.   A passed in hand constitutes a deal.

INCOMPLETE RUBBERS:    If only one side has a game they will be credited with 300 points.   If only one side has a part-score in an incomplete game they will receive 50 points.

TIE-BREAKS:   Ties at the end of a match will be broken by successive 2-board playoffs.

SYSTEMS ALLOWED:   As per the NZ Bridge Manual Rules, Only systems playable in a Junior tournament are permissible.   Please take a manual with you in case of any disputes.

 THE DRAW:     

Round 1        by Tuesday 2 April

Round 2        by Tuesday 30 April

Round 3        by Tuesday 28 May

Round  4       by Tuesday 25 June

Round  5       by Tuesday 23 July

Round  6       by Tuesday 13 August

RESULTS:   After a match has been played please forward your Official Score Sheet, to Francey Rolls by emailing to cdbridgeregion@gmail.com

Matches WILL default if results not received within one week of Round completion date.   NO EXCEPTIONS.

TRAVEL:   The committee has looked at the cost of running this competition across the region and has decided against implementing an entry fee. Instead, travel allowance will only be available if there is an east/west playoff at the rate of $15 per hour of return travel.

NATIONALS:  The winning pair of our competition will represent this Centre at the National Finals at Congress.   The Centre with the largest entry number will receive a second entry.   Should we qualify for a second entry (this will be known before we get to our finals) our finalists will both be entered in the Dan Gifford Competition.

Good bridging everyone!!

Rubber Bridge Regulations 19 June 2015

Rubber Bridge Entry Form 2019 (word)



Ann Hill 

Margaret Hurrelbrinck






Noel Woodhall     

Alister Buchanan












Viv Gordon       

Gillian Green












Denise Ohlen     

Sharon Brown








Pat Sheridan     

Yvonne Kuring





Pat/ Yvonne





Sally McLean       

Sue Kay
















Tony Gilbert    

Marjorie Thomas





















Gary Duncan      

Rob Armstrong



















Helen Andrews

Bev Penny 
















Gerry Palmer  

Susan Sykes









Anita Thirtle 

Sharon Mosley









Peter  Forbes

Lorraine Forbes














Sherry  Pedley,

Wayne Pedley,















Wendall Hart

Liz Mckay
















Robyn Nightingale 

Don Nightingale

















 Val Pain 

Janice Coleman












Ken Bateman

Jan Whyte

















Charles Kerr 

Lorainne Stachurski















Ray Kemp

Kay Townsley










Marnie Norris 

Mandy Jones










Andrew Kirkpatrick  

Barb Robinson

Add content